HISTORY of the River-Friendly Farmer Award

Since 1999, key conservation and agricultural organizations have sponsored the River Friendly Farmer (RFF) Program. The statewide initiative recognizes farmers, who through good production management practices helps keep Indiana’s rivers, lakes and streams clean.

Annually, each county Soil and Water Conservation District may nominate up to two farmers who do an outstanding job of protecting their rivers, lakes and streams through their every day conservation management practices on the farm. Watershed organizations also may nominate farmers for the award by submitting an application to a county SWCD.


The 2019 River Friendly Farmer Award Ceremony will take place 
at the Indiana State Fairgrounds,
4-H Exhibition Hall, 2nd floor
on Wednesday, August 14, 2019 at 1:00 pm

(Check-in begins for the recipients at 11 am)

2019 Indiana River Friendly Farmer Award Recipients

There are 47 award recipients this year representing 37 counties
in Indiana. 

2019 River Friendly Farmer Award Recipients County
Gary Ross Adams
Michael R. Werling Adams
Nathan Boone Boone
Chad Glunt Boone
Steve Stoelting Clay
Matthew Kelley Clinton
Kendall Cattle Daviess
Dick Froehling & Dave Riedeman Decatur
Bill Metz Decatur
Mike and Bryan Lammers Dubois
Alan Weyer Dubois
Roger & Joe Hibschman Elkhart
Eric Bryson Fayette
Barbara Vining Gibson
Harold Turner Grant
Amy Jo Farmer Hamilton
Bruce Beeker Hancock
Gary Sparks Hancock
Merlin Martin Hendricks
Justin Coleman Hendricks
Roger Greeson Howard
Ray Swingley Jay
Ben Singleton  Knox
Sherm Bryant Kosciusko
Jon and Scott Gochenaur; Scott Beecher LaGrange
St. Alban’s Peace Garden Marion
Jerry & Amy Eckrote Miami
Tracy and Christina Hunter Morgan
Terry and Marlene Maxwell Morgan
Ross Mallatt Newton
Mark Mallatt Newton
Adam Dobson Putnam
Justin Daube St Joseph
Matt Oberlies Scott
Chris Burroughs Spencer
Lee Nagai Starke
Larry Jernas Starke
Dan and Shawna Andrew Switzerland
Ken Briggs Switzerland
Bryan Shelby Tippecanoe
George Fehrenbacher Vanderburgh
Denny Bell Vigo
Runkel Farms Wabash
Todd Armstrong Washington
David Williamson Wayne
Dale Thomas Wells
Brent Emerick Whitley


2017 Indiana River Friendly Farmer Award Recipients

Download a complete list of past River Friendly Farmer Award recipients (2000-2016)